Search form

Google translate

RUSD Honors 128 Teachers with Encore! Awards


On Friday, May 8, during the second annual Encore! Awards in Education event,128 RUSD teachers were recognized for their success in improving achievement for their students. In addition to a plaque, each recipient received $100 for classroom supplies through the generous support of S.C. Johnson. A special thanks also to Educators Credit Union and Sam's Club who sponsored the event held at Memorial Hall.

This year, 128 elementary, middle and high school teachers were honored for their success in the classroom. These teachers have led their students to academic gains and are demonstrably meeting the District's goals of improving student achievement, closing achievement gaps and improving school climate.

On Friday, the District also recognized five RUSD teachers who have achieved National Board Certification. Completing the National Board Certification process is one of the highest levels of distinction in teaching. The five RUSD National Board Certified Teachers are: Linda Diaz (Racine Civil Leaders Academy), Joey Luba (Walden III High School), Kari Morey (Case High School), Valerie Morey (Case High School) and Cynthia Stokes (Starbuck Middle School).

The District also recognized Dorothy Robinson, an educational assistant who was recently named the 2015 WEAC Educational Support Professional of the Year.
Special guests included Racine Mayor John Dickert, Wisconsin State Superintendent Dr. Tony Evers and Rep. Peter Barca. The event was emceed by Racine native Chris Moreau.

Click here for a list of 2015 Encore! recipients.