You are here

Case High School Teams Sweep Top Two Spots for 2018 JA Business Challenge


More than 50 of the best and brightest student “CEOs” from Racine and Kenosha area competed in Junior Achievement’s annual JA Business Challenge presented by the BMO Harris Bank and Twin Disc.  This fun day of competition was held at Gateway Technical Colleges SCJ iMet in Sturtevant.  Two teams from Case High School of Racine Unified placed as the top teams at the end of the day-long competition, earning scholarships and prizes, and will advance to compete in the Wisconsin JA Business Challenge on May 3, 2018.

"The Junior Achievement Business Challenge provides a great opportunity for high school students to work as a team with their classmates, along with a local business professional volunteer, to gain the business acumen and leadership skills they will need to successfully participate in the global economy,” said Nick Lyons, Director of Junior Achievement in Racine and Kenosha Counties.  A total of 16 teams from 6 area high schools tested their knowledge at making a fictional product and running a virtual business through a hands-on computer simulated business strategy tournament using JA Titan. Each team
made make their own business decisions regarding price, production, marketing, capital investment, and research and development. The success or failure of the company depended on how well the students manage these key decisions.

Additionally, students learned about the importance of having sounds supporters and advisors before taking the leap to become an entrepreneur from Ivan Barra, CEO and owner of Ivan Barra Films, Inc.  The following are the final results from the day-long competition: Erin Cassity, Hunter D’Acquisto & Caila Holsapple from Case High School took first place, which provided a $500 scholarship to each student as well as entry to the Wisconsin JA Business Challenge.  Anthony Genac and Lauren Waiss took first runner-up from Case High School and will also compete in the statewide competition in May.

In the consolation brackets Dalton Damon, Ryan Follis and Marissa Wiegel of Burlington High School took first in their division, while Jaylin Mitchell, Le Senya Mora and Bradley Pribyl of Bradford High School placed first in theirs.