You are here

Academic Standards

Following are the academic standards adopted by the school board for the 2016-2017 school year:

  • Science - Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS)
  • English, Language Arts, Literacy, Mathematics - Common Core State Standards (CCSS)
  • English, Language Arts, Literacy and Math (students in alternative curriculum programs) - Essential Elements of the Common Core
  • Early Learning – 4K Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards (WMELS) 
  • Career and Technical Education (CTE) courses and programs - Wisconsin Common Career and Technical Education
  • All other subjects - Wisconsin Model Academic Standards (WMAS) 

2018-2019 School Year

High School Course Description Guide

​Standards Based Learning

In fall 2017, RUSD began the transition to Standards Based Grading and Learning. Instead of a single overall grade, Standards Based Learning breaks down the subject matter into smaller concepts that students should master by the end of the course.Throughout the term, student learning on each concept is recorded. Teachers track student progress, give appropriate feedback and adapt instruction to meet student needs. This shift in grading makes for stronger instruction that benefits all students.

This year, your child will receive a Standards Based Report Card for the following content areas:

  • Reading & English Language Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Music and Art
  • Physical Education and Health Education
  • High School: Freshman Seminar and Algebra 1

The remainder of the content areas including Social Studies, Science, World Languages and Career & Technical Education will wait until the 2018-19 school year to start using Standards Based Grading. Please see the Parent's Guide to Standards Based Learning below.

​Parent's Guide to Standards Based Learning (Elementary & Middle)

​Parent's Guide to Standards Based Learning (High School)